Ronak Sawant is an artist engaged in performing, literary and visual arts. He is a life explorer and a free soul who uses his art, wisdom and life's journey to inspire people and make a positive change in the world.

January 26, 2023

The True Meaning of Our Indian National Flag (Tiranga) - Ronak Sawant

text divider illustration

Ronak Sawant explains the True Meaning of Our Indian National Flag (Tiranga)

The National Flag of India is a horizontal tricolour with Saffron at the top, White in the middle and the Chakra (Wheel) with 24 spokes in Navy Blue in its centre and Green at the bottom. It stands proudly on the ground and flies freely in the sky, symbolising India's sovereignty (independence) and unity. Everyone knows this, right? Now let's get to something that no one knows or is unknown. Let me explain the true meaning of our Indian National Flag with deep gratitude and great pride.

Our honourable Indian National Flag is colloquially and patriotically called the Tiranga. Tiranga means tricoloured or three colours. Tiranga represents the Tridevi.

The Tridevi means the three Goddesses, a trinity of supreme feminine divinity and consorts of the Trimurti.

The Trimurti (a trinity of supreme masculine divinity) are the three Guna Avataras or qualitative natural style incarnations of Bhagavan (God) Shri Krishna.

As I stated above that the Tiranga represents the Tridevi, so the three colours of our Tiranga or National Flag represents each Devi/Mata (Goddess/Mother) from the Tridevi:

  • Saffron represents Lakshmi
  • White represents Saraswati
  • Green represents Parvati

Such is the beauty of our Indian National Flag or Tiranga that represents the Tridevi or three Goddesses and celebrates the Shakti (Divine Feminine Power or Consorts of the Trimurti). The Goddess Lakshmi is the consort of God Vishnu, Goddess Saraswati is the consort of God Brahma, and Goddess Parvati is the consort of God Shiva.

Without the love and blessings of the Goddess, even God is incomplete. Not only this, but without the consort of God, nothing is complete.

As our Tiranga is the representation of the Tridevi, thus it truly depicts Mother Nature also. To put it in another way, if there is any flag in the world that Mother Nature innately (naturally) displays every day, it is the flag of Bharat (India).

Mother Nature Displays Indian National Flag (Tiranga)
Mother Nature flaunts the Tiranga with deep gratitude and great pride.
Image Credit: Twitter/@AmritMahotsav

Besides the above representation, there is also a signification of the above three colours. Saffron signifies courage, sacrifice and patriotism. White signifies truth in our words & actions, purity in our thoughts and peace in the nation. Green signifies prosperity, fertility and growth.

In addition to the above three colour bands in equal proportions, our Flag has an important Chakra (Wheel) in Navy Blue at its centre, known as the Dharma Chakra. The navy blue colour of the Dharma Chakra represents Bhoomi or Dharti Mata (Mother Earth). The 24 spokes of the Dharma Chakra symbolise the 24 hours of the day. The Chakra, as a whole, signifies there is life in movement and death in stagnation.

The Dharma Chakra, along with the Tricolour, in general, our National Flag or Tiranga, symbolises the duty or virtue of every citizen of our beloved country Bharat (India). The righteous duty to safeguard our country from Adharma (that which is not in accord with Dharma, i.e., that which is against our Bharat) and to live life & work for its progress by being true (loyal) to our motherland.

If any person has this fallacy or misconception that the three colours of our Flag represent the various communities or "religions" per se, that person is a Murkh (idiot).

And if any person or community still tries to claim a particular colour, then one must never forget this:

Bharat is the oldest living continuous civilisation on Earth, so all the colours belong to us.

Indian National Flag (Tiranga)
Every true Bharatiya (Indian) and human should wear Saffron, White, Green and Navy Blue with deep gratitude and great pride.

Bharat Mata Ki Jai!

Vande Mataram!

No comments

Post a Comment

Comment Policy: Ronak Sawant appreciates your views and looks forward to reading them as comments on the content of this website. However, please note that Ronak Sawant solely does the comment moderation, which means no comment gets published on this site without his express approval. Also, any URL link posted in the comment section is a nofollow link. This measure is in place to prevent spamming and enhance the reading experience. Thanks for starting the conversation. Let's enjoy a meaningful chat.

Note: Only a User with a valid Google Account can post a comment on this Website. Please read this Comment & Posting Policy before commenting.

Get Inspired

To receive notifications of new posts and inspiring content by email,
simply enter your email address and subscribe to Ronak Sawant's blog.

Get in Touch

To connect and get regular updates,
simply join Ronak Sawant's social networks.



"Ronak Sawant is Ronak Sawant because Ronak Sawant is a Krishna bhakta."

– Ronak Sawant